Blog Archives

NARA Launches Founders Online

The National Archives, through its National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC), has entered into a cooperative agreement with The University of Virginia Press to create Founders Online and make freely available the historical documents of the Founders of the United States

Posted in Databases, Electronic Resources, History, Manuscripts, New and Notable, Open Access, Scholarly Communication, Special Collections & University Archives

Open Access Theses and Dissertations

Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) currently indexes over 1.6 million freely accessible electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions. The OATD project is led by

Posted in Arts & Humanities, Databases, Health Sciences, New and Notable, Open Access, Research, School of Professional Development, Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics, Social Sciences, Sustainability

NEW! American Periodicals Series Online

Over 1,100 American magazines spanning 200 years and covering nearly every aspect of American culture.

Posted in Arts & Humanities, Databases, History, Journalism, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics, Social Sciences, Theatre, Writing and Literature

New Electronic Collections Available: EEBO

Over the past two years, the University Libraries has been able to purchase some key research collections of primary resources. One such resource is Early English Books Online (EEBO). It includes digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed

Posted in Arts & Humanities, Databases, Digital Collections, eBooks, Electronic Resources, History, Literature, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Social Sciences

ARTstor Scheduled Maintenance

ARTstor will be performing temporary maintenance on Saturday evening, May 1, 2010 between the hours of 9:00 PM and 2:00 AM EDT. At this time, service will be termporarily suspended.

Posted in Databases

American Geophysical Union Backfile Now Available

The library has recently acquired access to the digitized backfile of journals published by the American Geophysical Union (AGU), a worldwide scientific community that started more than 110 years ago. A list of the journals in the collection, dates included,

Posted in Databases

Cambridge Books Online Trial

Cambridge University Press is one of the largest and most prestigious academic publishers in the world and publishes scholarly journals and books for subjects as diverse as astronomy, Shakespeare studies, economics, mathematics and politics. Cambridge Books Online provides desktop access

Posted in Database Trials, Databases

ScienceDirect Scheduled Service Outage on Jan.23rd

ScienceDirect will be unavailable due to scheduled maintenance for approximately 12 hours on Saturday, January 23 from 8:00AM to 8:00PM EST.

Posted in Databases, Uncategorized

LexisNexis Scheduled Service Outage on October 31

The LexisNexis Academic, Congressional, and Statistical databases will be unavailable beginning Saturday, October 31st, at 9:00pm until Sunday, November 1st, 5:00am.

Posted in Databases

Free Access to Swine Flu Information from DynaMed

Due to the recent global outbreak of Swine Influenza, EBSCO Publishing and the DynaMed Editors have made DynaMed’s information about Swine Influenza free to health care providers and institutions throughout the world. The DynaMed topic on Swine Influenza consolidates information

Posted in Databases, Health Sciences