Commitment to Equity, Inclusion, Diversity & Accessibility at the University Libraries

Our Mission

Attendees at the Africana Studies 50th Anniversary Commemoration
Panel Discussion: Decolonizing Minds: Frantz Fanon’s Enduring Influence

Respect for diversity is a fundamental value of Stony Brook University and the University Libraries, and is identified among the core values of our strategic growth. Working in parallel with the Office of the SBU’s Chief Diversity Officer the University Libraries Committee on Equity, Inclusion and Diversity will strive to:

  • build, preserve, and provide access to rich and diverse collections
  • recommend policies and projects that embed diversity and inclusion into the Libraries’ services and work environments
  • envision events that build cultural awareness and provide the tools needed to strengthen work relationships and build a supportive SBU community
  • increase awareness and sensitivity among library staff
  • develop responsive library spaces for diverse user communities

Diversity , Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility Team (Current)

  • Chair: Sunny Chung, Health Sciences Librarian
  • Vice Chair: TBD
  • Advisor: Mona Ramonetti, Head of Scholarly Communication
  • Chrysovalantou Tsoumpelis, Instructional Support Technician
  • Christine Fena, Undergraduate Success Librarian
  • Chris Kretz, Head of Academic Engagement
  • Sandra Stelter, Instructional Support Associate
  • Tim Kohn, Resource Sharing Coordinator
  • Caterina Reed, Academic Engagement Librarian

Past Committees


  • Chair: Victor Santiago
  • Past Chair: Claire Payne
  • River Amin
  • Christine Fena
  • Stacey Horath
  • Chris Kretz
  • Mona Ramonetti
  • Shay De La Cruz Coronado (student)
  • Katherine Heredia (student)


  • Chair: Claire Payne
  • Vice-Chair: Victor Santiago
  • Christine Fena
  • Stacey Horath
  • Chris Kretz
  • Jay Levenson
  • Nicki Loder
  • Mona Ramonetti
  • Caterina Reed
  • Laurel Scheinfeld
  • Shay De La Cruz Coronado


  • Chair: Stacey Horath
  • Vice-Chair: Claire Payne
  • Chris Kretz
  • Jay Levenson
  • Nicki Loder
  • Mona Ramonetti
  • Laurel Scheinfeld


  • Chair: Mona Ramonetti
  • Steven Berbig
  • Anastasia Chiu
  • Stacey Horath
  • Jessica Koos
  • Chris Kretz
  • Jay Levenson
  • Raquel Lynn
  • Suzanne Natsch
  • Victoria Pilato


Panel Discussion: Decolonizing Minds: Frantz Fanon’s Enduring Influence (April 2024)
Reception at Skylight Gallery after Panel Discussion (April 2024)
AAPI Heritage Month Opening Ceremony, Dr. Vivian Louie (April 2024)
AI in DEIA: Thinking Beyond Bias, Dr. Matthew Salzano (March 2024)
Human Library, conversations to challenge stereotypes (November 2023)
Panel Discussion on the Experiences of Filipino Nurses in the United States (October 2023)