Blog Archives

Electronic Resources from the New York State Library

New York State employees, including Stony Brook University faculty and staff, can access online journals and databases available from the New York State Library. To enable access, a State Library borrower’s card must be obtained. While there is overlap between

Posted in Databases

More Springer Titles Now Available

Almost 1700 titles published online by Springer are now available thanks to the Library’s participation in a new contract sponsored by the NERL (Northeast Research Libraries) Consortium. Each title is linked from the Electronic Journals page and can also be

Posted in Computer Science, Databases, Engineering

Free access to Royal Soc. Digitial Archive until Feb 2009

The Royal Society Digital Journal Archive(http://journals.royalsociety.org) is now free to access until 1 February2009. The Royal Society Digital Archive is easily the mostcomprehensive journal archive in science and contains some of themost significant scientific papers ever published. Coveringalmost 350 years

Posted in Databases

Institutional Repositories Searched in Web of Knowledge

Searches in the Web of Knowledge database include results from 716 institutional repositories along with full text. In addition, content from thousands of scientifically-focused websites are included in search results. All websites searched have been selected by Web of Knowledge

Posted in Databases, Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics

New Titles Added to Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online has added four in-depth and scholarly titles. Coverage of the sciences is enhanced with the new Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, containing over 21,000 entries, and The New Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians, which includes

Posted in Databases, Reference

Cambridge Histories Online

Available on a trial basis until Friday, October 17th, Cambridge Histories Online includes 64 titles and over 250 volumes in the Cambridge history series published since 1960. Among the titles included are The Cambridge History of American Foreign Relations (4

Posted in Databases, History

Biological Abstracts on Web of Knowledge

From now until November 8th, Biological Abstracts will be available on the familiar Web of Knowledge platform. You can search the database simultaneously with Web of Science, or search it directly by going to the “Select a Database” tab. Biological

Posted in Biology, Databases, Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics

EBSCOhost 2.0 Interface Released Today

EBSCOhost 2.0 is live and the following new features have been introduced to the site. A new simpler basic searching screen The ability to preview an article or image by mouseover New result list New detail display New search history

Posted in Databases, Uncategorized

News from Project MUSE

Project MUSE introduces linked subject headings (reproduced from Project MUSE’s recent email announcement) Users of Project MUSE articles and Tables of Contents in our recently-launched new format may have noticed an additional feature – “clickable” subject headings for each article,

Posted in Classics, Comparative Studies, Databases, History, Literature, Political Science, Women's Studies, Writing and Literature, Writing and Rhetoric

Oxford Music Online

Grove Music Online is now part of the Oxford Music Online database. Grove Music Online includes the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd Edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The

Posted in Databases, Music