Blog Archives

Congressional Tweets? #EnhancedResearch @SBULibraries

SBU Libraries‘ ProQuest Congressional database recently launched a newly redesigned interface with some engaging new enhancements such the ability to retrieve social media content from Senators, Representatives, and Federal agencies. The Political News & Social Media search can be filtered by

Posted in Databases, Government Information, Research

This Just In!- News Resources for Journalism Students

This week, the Melville Library welcomes the participants of the 2015 Greene Team, a School of Journalism “boot camp” for high school  journalists. For these budding journalists and for more  seasoned Stony Brook journalism students, SBU Libraries  is the place

Posted in Databases, Journalism, Melville Library, Research

University Libraries Joins Biomed Central

University Libraries has become a Supporting Member of Biomed Central, the Open Access biomedical open access publisher. What are the benefits of Supporter Membership? All Supporter Member researchers can take advantage of a 15% discount on the article-processing charge when

Posted in Biology, Databases, Health Sciences, Health Sciences Library, Medicine, Open Access

NEW Queer Studies Guide!

Did you know that the term Queer isn’t necessarily derogatory? It is an umbrella term for gender and sexual minorities who are not cisgender or heterosexual. Check out this reinvigorated guide featuring resources for the study of lesbian, gay, transgender,

Posted in Databases, eJournals, Electronic Resources, Featured, Library Outreach, Reference, Research, Uncategorized, Women's Studies

Whan that Aprille, with his shoures soote

Thus begins The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer, reminding us that April is National Poetry Month. Whether or not you agree with Chaucer that April showers are sweet, you can still celebrate poetry month at SBU Libraries, where poetry is

Posted in Books, Databases, Digital Collections, eBooks, Electronic Resources, Literature, Research, Writing and Literature

Research Anywhere!

Why would anyone try to do research from a mobile phone?  Because it’s always with you, it always has an Internet connection, and the library has the tools you need to find articles, access databases, and other helpful resources. Check

Posted in Databases, eBooks, eJournals, Electronic Resources, Library Technology, Reference, Research

Pi Day

March 14, or 3.14, is Pi Day, a day to celebrate all things mathematical. Here at SBU Libraries, we recognize Pi Day by highlighting our resources for your inner Mathlete. For starters, we have subject guides on Mathematics and on our branch

Posted in Databases, Electronic Resources, Libraries, Math, Physics and Astronomy Library

New York “In a Blizzard’s Grasp”

That was headline of the New York Times, March 13, 1888, when a severe storm crippled New York City. Calling it “the worst storm the city has ever known,” the Times described the impact of of the blizzard, sharing the

Posted in Databases, Libraries, News Literacy, Research

New Guide to Congressional Research

Interested in finding out more about Congress? SBU Libraries can help with our new guide to Congressional Research and Documents. Whether you are interested in Directories and Biographies on members of Congress or tracking down an elusive CRS report, we’ve

Posted in Databases, Government Information, Melville Library

Flame Challenge: What is Sleep?

The Alan Alda Center for Communicating Science asks “What is Sleep?” Some Stony Brook University students seem to be already doing some head nodding experimentation in the library. If it’s your dream to take on this challenge, though, Stony Brook

Posted in Databases, Education, Health Sciences, Research, Uncategorized