Blog Archives

Dissertations and Theses Full-Text

Dissertations and Theses-Full Text Contains 1.2 million full-text dissertations, including most dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Includes 2.7 million citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to

Posted in Databases, Spotlight

Funny You Should Ask…

Sometimes you are looking for unusual content in a database and don’t know where to start your research. Political cartoons can be one of those questions. Stony Brook University Libraries are here to help! To search for political cartoons, a

Posted in Databases

MUS 520

MUS 520 (“Bibliography and Research Skills”) is a five-week course offered every fall for new students in the Music Department’s Doctoral of Musical Arts program in performance.   This year there are over 20 students in the course.  As Head

Posted in Academic Subjects, Arts & Humanities, Books, Catalog, Databases, Information Literacy, Interlibrary Loan, Libraries, Library Instruction, Manuscripts, Melville Library, Music, Reference, Research, Services, Special Collections & University Archives, Writing and Literature

Spotlight: Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; its electronic journal collections support a wide array of research. MUSE is a source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world’s leading university presses

Posted in Academic Subjects, Africana Studies, Anthropology, Art, Arts & Humanities, Asian American Studies, Asian and Asian American Studies, Atheletic Training, Biology, Business, Chemical Engineering & Material Science, Chemistry, China Studies, Chinese Studies, Cinema Studies, Classics, Computer Science, Cultural Analysis & Theory, Dance, Databases, eBooks, Economics, Education, eJournals, Engineering, Environmental Art, Architecture and Design, Environmental Humanities, Featured, Film Studies, Game Studies, Geosciences, Health Sciences, History, Italian American Studies, Japanese Studies, Journalism, Korean Studies, Literature, Marine and Atmospheric Sciences, Medicine, Music, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Religious Studies, Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics, Social Sciences, Sociology, South Asian Studies, Sustainability, Technology, Theatre, Women's Studies, Writing and Rhetoric

The Write Stuff

Aspiring authors, if you aren’t able to attend this year’s Southampton Writers Conference,  Stony Brook’s annual summer program of stellar writing workshops taught by world class novelists, playwrights, and poets, do not despair….you can still avail yourself of the University

Posted in Arts & Humanities, Books, Databases, eBooks, Electronic Resources, Libraries, Literature, MFA Writing & Literature

Farewell Thomas, Hello Congress.gov

congress.gov

In 2015, government researchers will say goodbye to Thomas.gov, the congressional research website of the Library of Congress that was launched back in 1995. Its successor, Congress.gov, currently available in beta format, will be the new official website for U.S.

Posted in Databases, Electronic Resources, Government Information, Libraries, Political Science, Research

Looking for Law in All the Wrong Places? Try WestlawNext

Stony Brook University Libraries are now offering access to the WestlawNext legal research system from two dedicated terminals in the Central Reading Room of the Melville Library. Fulltext primary law coverage includes state and federal caselaw, statutes and regulations. West’s

Posted in Central Reading Room, Databases, Electronic Resources, Government Information, Libraries, Melville Library

Project Muse Premium

Project Muse is a scholarly database similar to JSTOR that offers full-text versions of over 600 peer-reviewed journals from many of the world’s leading university presses and scholarly societies. Subject areas include: Area and Ethnic Studies; Art and Architecture; Creative

Posted in Africana Studies, Anthropology, Art, Arts & Humanities, Asian and Asian American Studies, Cinema Studies, Comparative Studies, Cultural Analysis & Theory, Databases, Digital Collections, Economics, Education, Electronic Resources, Film Studies, French, German, Health Sciences, History, Libraries, Literature, Medicine, MFA Theatre & Film, MFA Writing & Literature, Music, New and Notable, Philosophy, Political Science, Religious Studies, Research, School of Professional Development, Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics, Social Sciences, Sociology, Sustainability, Theatre, Women's Studies, Writing and Literature, Writing and Rhetoric

Database Trials

University Libraries is sponsoring a selection of database trials throughout the Fall 2013 Semester.  To discover and access trial databases, visit Databases Trials. Trials include: Access World News The most comprehensive collection of full-text newspapers globally, Access World News provides

Posted in Academic Subjects, Database Trials, Databases

DATABASE Change: ClinicalKey replaces MDConsult

Effective immediately ClinicalKey replaces MDConsult and MDC will be no longer available. ClinicalKey delivers all of Elsevier’s medical and surgical content in one dynamic resource, delivering access to over 900 books, over 500 journals, thousands of videos, and millions of

Posted in Databases, Electronic Resources, Health Sciences Library