Blog Archives

Database Update: Artstor

Have you noticed that the digital art library database, Artstor, looks different? You may have thought, Wow! No more pop up windows or Flash needed when I want to look at an image, but where did my instructor privileges go?

Posted in About Us, Art, Arts & Humanities, Databases, Digital Collections, Digital Humanities Tagged with:

Get in Touch with the Past with Artemis: Primary Sources (Gale)

Make connections and gain greater insight into your research by searching three primary source databases at once.  Artemis: Primary Sources provides access and simultaneous cross searching of three Gale primary source databases: Sabin Americana, 1500-1926, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, and

Posted in Arts & Humanities, Databases, History

Get Inspired with Making of the Modern World, 1450-1914

Writing a paper in history, political science, economics or cultural studies?  Try searching in SBU Libraries’ Making of the Modern World, 1450-1914 (Gale).  Find searchable books, serials, pamphlets, and essays from around the world that tell the story of four

Posted in Africana Studies, Arts & Humanities, Asian American Studies, Cultural Analysis & Theory, Databases, Economics, History, Italian American Studies, Journalism, Literature, Political Science, Sociology, Women's Studies

Enhance Your Research with Sabin Americana (ProQuest)

The Sabin Americana database offers searchable, full-text access to thousands of archival documents from North, South, and Central America, as well as the Caribbean, from 1500 to 1926.  Use it to enhance your research in history, cultural studies, religion, literature,

Posted in Africana Studies, Arts & Humanities, Cultural Analysis & Theory, Databases, Electronic Resources, History, Literature, MFA Writing & Literature, Political Science, Religious Studies, Social Sciences, Uncategorized, Women's Studies

Need some motivation to study? Try USMLE Easy!

USMLE Easy contains thousands of questions covering all the disciplines and organ systems from the USMLE Step 1, Step 2 CK, and Step 3. Adaptive learning technology is used to personalize your test prep experience based on your individual needs.

Posted in Databases, Health Sciences, Health Sciences Library

International Baccalaureate students visit SBU Libraries

On February 29, twenty bright eyed students from West Islip High School’s International Baccalaureate program visited Stony Brook University Libraries to learn about research skills and library databases for their year long research projects on topics as disparate as Bach’s dance

Posted in Circulation, Databases, Library Instruction, Melville Library, Uncategorized

#GivingTuesday, Getting Knowledge- Priceless!

#GivingTuesday, a global day to give back, is a great opportunity to highlight all that SBU Libraries contribute to the university community. The libraries offer students, faculty, and staff access to world class collections and services, including books, journals, databases,

Posted in About Us, Books, Databases, Libraries, Melville Library, Reference, Research

New eBook Databases: ProQuest ebrary Academic Complete & University Press Collection

The Libraries have subscribed to ProQuest ebrary Academic Complete and University Press Collection.  These collections offer access to more than 740,000 full-text eBooks to support research and learning in the arts and humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and life sciences,

Posted in Databases, eBooks, New and Notable

Thousands of Streaming Videos Available from Kanopy

The Libraries have subscribed to Kanopy Streaming Video, which allows users to stream videos related to the arts, business, education, global studies and language, health, communications, sciences, social sciences, and technical fields.  Designed to augment and enrich academic work in

Posted in Databases, Digital Collections, New and Notable

Trial of Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992

The library is trialing the Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992 for the month of September. Punch is one of the foremost vehicles for middle class conservative opinion over its long publication history, and because it combines satirical cartoons as well as textual

Posted in About Us, Databases, Libraries, Melville Library